Kashayam

With ageing and weight gain, I thought a simple way to improve metabolism and bring the body to eliminate toxins is by drinking a magic portion called Kashayam. In my younger days when I was in my early 20’s, my mom used to brew this magic portion and give me a cup to drink in the mornings. Unlike, a lot of youngsters who dislike the taste, I loved it.

So I decided to give my body the goodness, again.

 – In 1.5 cups of water – I add – Jeera, Sombhu (Fennel) , Pepper corns, Ginger cut into small pieces, Cloves, Cardamom, Cinnamon + a bit of honey or ground jaggery.

– Bring to a boil and let it simmer.

It’s a pleasure drinking this herbal concoction. Specially during the cold winters. It warms you up internally and gives you the pleasure of giving your body a boost of goodness.

Not to mention, It keeps the winter bug of cold and cough away !

 A simple remedy which is definitely a feel good remedy !!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kashayam

  1. Greenboochi says:

    Thank you for sharing the recipe SJ 🙂 I am sure it will do wonders esp during this cold weather 🙂

  2. Lavender says:

    Ah! Right on time when I need this recipe 🙂 Cold weather in Boston is killing me already.

Gimme your 2 Cents !

