Our Valentines Day !

Valentines day celebration is surely over-rated ! J and I have also been consumed in that craze during the initial years of our marriage.

I remember our first Valentines Day after our wedding Feb 14, 2006 – It was 12 days after our wedding and after our days at work we visited an over crowded restaurant in Bangalore, we couldn’t find tables so we walked across to another restaurant and the order took forever to arrive. We were so irritated and hungry that we repented deciding to dining out that day.

J had bought me Chocolates wrapped in red cardboard wrappings (I still have those wrappers) and a Swarovski Bracelet (Which is really special to me – though a couple of crystals have fallen off ) and I bought him NOTHING. The fun part, was being so naive in love and  a 12 day old married couple, J was upset that I hadn’t bought him anything , of course he was disappointed….LOL. I’d to convince him that I’d brought myself into his life.

Fast Forward to 8 years ! Feb 14 2014 !

We’d invited J’s office colleagues families home for dinner on Feb 15, Sat. Two Armenian families – One family with 3 teenage kids and the other family with 1 teenage child and that totally made 10 adults and 2 kids inclusive of M. Yaa, I can now take the credit of cooking for 15 people !

So, on Friday the 14 Feb – J , M and I went grocery shopping after J got back from work. We had to shop for the big cooking plans the very next day. We got back home at about 10 and J parked the car and headed off to meet our neighbour – An Indian Doc whose family is back in Chennai. I got back home, gave M his dinner and tucked him to sleep. Sorted out the groceries out of their bags and hungrily waited for J to get back.

We had bought a roasted chicken and a box of salad for dinner from the supermarket. I waited staring at the dinner on the table which made me even more hungrier. J came in 30 minutes later and asks me why I still hadn’t eaten. I smiled. We sat together and shared the box of salad.

Image

“You like the boiled egg , you take this” i said, plopping the egg on to his share, you like the bhajji you have it, he said –  The sharing was a perfect analogy of sharing our lives for 8 years. The capsicum, tomatoes, corn, yogurt, lettuce, potatoes, bhajji and eggs in the salad seemed the symbols of joy, sorrow, love , hate, hugs, fight, tears and smiles of our lives.

8 years later…Our love had matured and it showed on what we did on Valentines day !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Our Valentines Day !

  1. D says:

    Wow… so cute … so much of maturity .. Love ul both S and J… May God bless ul for the love you’ll share… Admire ul as a couple…

    Loving Sis D… 🙂

  2. greenboochi says:

    Awwww love the last para 🙂 God bless you both 🙂

  3. Loved how you have described it SJ. 🙂 Wish you both many more lovely and happy valentines days.

  4. magic says:

    came across to your blog through tppl’s blog after reading the last para i wanted to comment
    so here are my 2cents….for the last para specially ….awww cute and it shows the maturity and also these small things matters most I guess in a relationship…yeh I agree gifts and all should be there, but these small matters matter the most at least according to me….God bless you both 🙂

  5. chipmunk says:

    you guys are typically unique 🙂 🙂 i love the silent dinner of yours and the jumble of emotions that was referred to the food 🙂 🙂 perfect and very thoughtful writing!! belated happy anniversary by the way 🙂

  6. Aww so sweet of you two . Stay blessed sweetheart !! Wishing you many more beautiful years to come.

  7. Tharani says:

    It’s just a perfect Valentine’s day celebration, sharing a meal. Stay blessed forever SJ 🙂

  8. Pepper says:

    So beautiful, such mature love. The last paragraph says it all.

Gimme your 2 Cents !

